Presidential Finalist

Featured News Institutional News Recent News

All information in this article was disclosed in a press release from the university.


The presidential search committee has narrowed their finalists down to the final three and announced them on Tuesday, Feb 26.

Matthew J. Wilson, Terisa C. Riley and JuliAnn Mazachek were announced as the finalists. All three of the finalists have experience for many years at separate universities.

In a press release that was released on Feb. 26, Chair of the Board of Governors and Presidential Search Committee David Liechti said, “We had an outstanding pool of candidates with a broad range of experiences and are very excited to have these three finalists visit campus. The feedback the campus and community provide us through the interview process will be an important consideration, so we encourage people to attend the forums and let us know what they think.”

Wilson is currently a professor of law at The University of Akron School of Law and was formerly the president of The University of Akron. Wilson began his academic career in 2003 at Temple University’s Japan Campus as the first associate professor of law and law program director. Wilson eventually moved up to be the associate dean and senior associate dean.

Riley is currently holding the position of senior vice president for student affairs and university administration for Texas A&M University-Kingsville. She was previously senior vice president for fiscal and student affairs and vice president for student affairs. She has held many administrative positions in her academic career.

Mazachek is currently the vice president of academic affairs for Washburn University. Before her current role, Mazachek was the president and CEO of the Washburn University Foundation from 2002-2017 and was also previously the dean of the Washburn University School of Business and a professor of accounting. In her academic career, she was awarded the Washburn University Ned Fleming Excellence in Teaching Award in 1997 and is a certified management accountant.

The three finalists will be on campus on the first week of March and will be holding open forums at 3:15 p.m. in the Kemper Recital Hall inside Spratt Hall. Wilson will be on Monday, Riley will be on Wednesday, and Mazachek will be on Friday.

More information, including each candidate’s curriculum vitae, can be found at